Going forward, there’ll be a bit of a change in FrameRate. Although brevity is key, I find myself giving proper english a gut punch by making run-on sentences as I try to cram in every aspect of the film I want to talk about. There’s even moments where I skip over important things to fit the three sentence format. With that in mind, I’m going to add another sentence to the limit, and hope you’ll not find yourself running late reading that additional line ;P. Please share and enjoy!
There are fewer examples which exemplify the frustration of diminishing returns better than the Ip Man series of films. Sure, Donnie is great as always, whether he be acting or fighting–which, by the way, all look and are filmed with massive skill. But just like the first and second films, the villain is cartoonish, Ip Man himself is blandly spotless and blameless, and the plot is bare bones. The film achieves some successs in iteration by focusing more on Ip Man’s family life and relationship with his wife, but even then one wonders if a franchise can survive by serving up the same thing-both the good and bad-time and time again.

7/10

