Although I rather liked Batman v. Superman (an opinion I find myself defending often ha) I do believe Wonder Woman brings that franchise in a much better direction, giving us elements wholly distinct and different from the good-yet-tiring fare Marvel provides us, offering interesting perspectives and views on humanity, yet not being dour, depressing, but instead very fun and funny. Gal Gadot as Diana is the highest achievement of the film, bringing the young heroine to life as if she stepped right out of a panel, young, hopeful and naive, but always strong and powerful both in her mind, heart and fists. Patty Jenkins and co. provide a slick, well paced film that looks distinctly different from Snyder’s work, yet fits snugly in that universe with ease, even though like Snyder their love for slow motion is abundant, redundant and garish (guys please, let’s chill on the slo-mo.) What prevents me from saying I loved the movie (I liked it, don’t get me wrong. Liked it a lot) were some eyeroll inducing moments of cheesiness even super hero films should be above, and villains that are not only cartoonish, one-dimensional, and cardboard, but stand in direct opposition of the film’s message that ideas on good and evil are much more complex than Diana thinks, making the central theme fall flat in what is otherwise an inspiring, exciting and hopefully first entry in the Wonder Woman series of films.

7.5/10

